Site Announcements
Congratulations to

View the results of the New Wave Outpost 20th Anniversary Top Songs Poll here:

Coming Soon: Top Albums Poll. Stay tuned!

Welcome to the new forum!
If you are a previously registered user, you must do the following:

1) Click on 'I forgot my password' at the login prompt
2) Enter your username and email you registered with and submit
3) You will receive an email with an activation link. Please click it and then log in using the random password provided
4) Go to your User Control Panel and click on the Profile tab
5) Click on 'Edit Account Settings' and enter your new password twice followed by the random password provided earlier. Click Submit.
6) That's're back in! You may have to log in again with your new password.

If you forgot your email address, please email me (MikeP) at:

Note: you must now use bb code buttons in the Post form for embedded images, YouTube videos, etc.
For example, to post embedded YouTube videos: paste in the link (e.g.,, highlight it and then click the YouTube button.

Toyah "The Blue Meaning" 2CD/DVD

Toyah "The Blue Meaning" 2CD/DVD

Postby dlgladwin » Fri Feb 05, 2021 5:36 am

Coming in May from Cherry Red:


Toyah and Cherry Red Records are delighted to announce the newly remastered and expanded release of Toyah’s 1980 album “The Blue Meaning” on 28 May 2021. This is the second in a reissue programme of Toyah’s entire Safari Records catalogue.


Produced by Steve James with arrangements by Steve James and ‘Toyah’ the band (Joel Bogen, Pete Bush, Toyah Willcox, Steve Bray and Charlie Francis), the album reached number 1 on the UK Independent Album Chart and charted in the main UK Top 40 album chart in June 1980.

◦Remastered by Nick Watson from the original mastertapes and original sources, overseen and approved by Joel Bogen.

◦The album features the ultimate fan favourite ‘Ieya’ considered a signature song by the band, which was also released as a single.

◦2-CD+DVD digipack with a fully illustrated 24-page booklet containing a brand new introduction note from Toyah plus rare and unseen imagery including album cover outtakes taken at Wykehurst Place, a gothic revival mansion in Bolney, Sussex.

◦This expanded edition features 27 remastered bonus tracks including single mixes, live tracks, rarities and unheard demos compiled by Craig Astley. Amongst the 20 previously unreleased tracks are the final recordings made by this band line-up including ‘Silence Won’t Do’ and ‘Jack & Jill’, as seen being recorded on the 1980 ITV documentary “Toyah” and have been long awaited by fans for forty years.

◦The very first demo of ‘Angels & Demons’ recorded at Eel Pie Studios, an Alternate Vocal take of ‘Blue Meanings’ with the previously unheard original longer song outro and three tracks recorded live at the ICA London all make their release debuts.

◦Includes the early original version of ‘It’s A Mystery’ by Blood Donor feat Toyah Willcox that a ‘new’ line-up of Toyah ‘the band’ went on to record and enjoy their first hit single with in 1981.

◦A sleevenote by Toyah’s archivist Craig Astley, with input from Toyah Willcox and Joel Bogen, chronicles the creation of the album and reveals the recording origins of the bonus material.

◦Includes a DVD (NTSC/Region Free) containing three brand new features with Toyah Willcox, an interview about the album/period, a track-by-track album commentary and an exclusive acoustic three-song session of songs from the era – all filmed October 2020.

◦The DVD also includes rare archive BBC TV performances of ‘Mummies’ and ‘Danced’ from Friday Night, Saturday Morning (November 1980) available on DVD for the first time ever.

◦Strictly limited edition neon pink coloured vinyl echoes Toyah’s hair colour from the back sleeve and the colourful glow surrounding the gothic mansion, Wykehurst Place in Sussex on the LP’s front cover.

◦The vinyl LP features the original album track listing and features rare unseen imagery plus full album lyrics.

◦Initial copies of the Vinyl LP from Cherry Red website come with a signed postcard by Toyah – design exclusive to the LP pre-order.

◦Initial copies of the 2CD+DVD from Cherry Red website come with a signed postcard by Toyah – design exclusive to the 2CD+DVD pre-order.

Disc One: CD
01 Ieya
02 Spaced Walking
03 Ghosts
04 Mummies
05 Blue Meanings
06 Tiger! Tiger!
07 Vision
08 Insects
09 Love Me
10 She

Bonus Tracks

11 Silence Won’t Do*
12 Jack & Jill*
13 Cotton Vest
14 The Merchant & The Nubile
15 Danced (Session Version)
16 Last Goodbye (Session Version)*
17 Love Me (Session Version)*
18 Ieya (Single Version)
19 Helium Song (Spaced Walking)^

* Previously unreleased
^ Previously unreleased digitally

Disc Two: CD

Live at ICA, London: Sept 1980
01 Love Me (Live At ICA London)*
02 Waiting (Live At ICA London)*
03 Ieya (Live At ICA London)*

Park Gates Studios: March 1980
04 Blue Meanings (Alternate Vocal)*
05 She (Alternate Vocal)*
06 Spaced Walking (Helium Acapella)*
07 Ghosts (Instrumental)*
08 Mummies (Instrumental)*
09 Vision (Instrumental)*

Park Gates Studios: July 1980
10 Silence Won’t Do (Alternate Vocal)*
11 Jack & Jill (Alternate Vocal)*
12 The Merchant & The Nubile (Alternate Vocal)*

Blood Donor Feat. Toyah Willcox
13 It’s A Mystery (Original Version)

Eel Pie Studios: November 1980
14 Angels & Demons (Demo)*
15 You’re My Hero (Demo)
16 Sphinx (Instrumental Demo)*
17 Walkie Talkie (Instrumental Demo)*
18 Anthem (Instrumental Demo)*

* Previously unreleased

Disc Three: DVD
01 The Story Behind The Album: Toyah Interview 2020
02 Track By Track Album Commentary: Toyah Interview 2020
03 Ghosts: Acoustic Session 2020
04 Blue Meanings: Acoustic Session 2020
05 Ieya: Acoustic Session 2020
06 Danced: Friday Night, Saturday Morning 28/11/1980
07 Mummies: Friday Night, Saturday Morning 28/11/1980
Read what I'm writing?
Switchin' to Glide
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 5:38 pm

Return to News, Reissues & Compilations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests